

DECLARATION OF ENTRY IN PORTUGAL

(According to articles 14 and 16 of Act 23/2007 of July 4 and subsequent amendments)

1. Who NEEDS to submit a Declaration of Entry in Portugal to SEF*:

Foreign citizens entering the Country from another Member State by way of a border not subject to control shall be required to report this fact to SEF. The Declaration of Entry is mandatory for foreign citizens third country nationals** who stay in private or accommodation units which don't submit accommodation forms to SEF.

- 2. Who DOES'NT NEED to submit a Declaration of Entry in Portugal to SEF:
- Foreign citizens third country nationals who entered Portugal by way of a border subject to control;
- Foreign citizens who are residents or visa holders authorised to stay in the country for more than six months;
- Foreign citizens who immediately after entering the Country, stay in hotels or in other kind of accommodation units which submit accommodation forms to SEF;
- Foreign citizens who are covered by the EU legal framework or equivalent arrangements**.
- 3. When must you submit a Declaration of Entry in Portugal to SEF: Within three working days after the date of entry in Portugal.
- 4. What do you need to submit a Declaration of Entry in Portugal to SEF:
- Print and fill in Form Declaration of Entry available at SEF's website (www.sef.pt), We can help /Forms area;
 and
- Personally deliver the filled in form and present passport or other valid travel document.
- 5. Where can you submit a Declaration of Entry in Portugal to SEF: At the negrest SEF Bureau.
- 6. Absence of Declaration of Entry within three working days after the date of entry in Portugal:

Failure to comply with the provisions of Article 14 is an administrative offence punishable with a fine from €60 to €160.

^{*}SEF / Serviço de Estrangeiros e Fronteiras – The Portuguese Immigration and Borders Service

^{**}The Declaration of Entry is mandatory for foreign citizens third country nationals who are not covered by the EU legal framework or equivalent arrangements: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Island, Italy, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kinadom.